2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
    Feb 27, 2024  
2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Calendar (SJNY Long Island)


 
   

Fall Semester 2023

Aug. 30 On Campus New Student Orientation
Aug. 30 Virtual New Student Orientation 
Aug. 31 Virtual Parent Orientation
Sep. 5 (Tue) First Day of Graduate Management Classes
Sep. 6 (Wed) Undergraduate and Graduate Begin
Sep. 6 (Wed) All Full Semester Online Classes  (Undergraduate, Graduate, GMS) Classes Begin
Sep. 6 (Wed) Cycle A Online Classes Begin
Sep. 6 - 12 Late Registration and Program Changes
Sep. 9 (Sat) Weekend University Trimester Begins
Sep. 27 Last day to opt to take courses Pass/No Credit Basis
Oct. 2

Last Day to Withdraw from Cycle A Classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of Cycle A Online Classes

Oct. 9 (Mon) Fall Break - (No Classes)
Oct. 18 University Wide Meeting Day - Long Island Campus
No Classes Between 8:00AM - 4:35 PM;  Classes Resume at 4:45 PM
Oct. 26 Last day to withdraw from classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of the Semester.
Oct. 27 Cycle A Online Classes End.
Oct. 30 (Mon) Cycle B Online Classes Begin
Nov. 10 (Fri.) Veteran’s Day. (No Classes)
Nov. 23- Nov. 26 Thanksgiving Recess (Wed. Nov. 22 - Classes beginning at 4:00 pm or later will Not Meet.)
Nov. 27 Last day to Withdraw from Cycle B Online Classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of Cycle B Online Classes
Dec. 11 (Mon) Last Day of Undergraduate and Graduate Classes
Dec. 12 (Tue) Conversion Day. Hold Friday Classes.
Dec. 13-19 Final Examination Period (Dec. 20  will be alternate date if exams are missed because of snow.)
Dec. 16 (Sat) Graduate Management Classes End
Dec. 17 (Sun) Weekend University Classes End
Dec. 19 Cycle B Online Classes End
Jan. 5 Make-up exams for final exam absentees - Fall 2023 semester
Jan. 12 Last day to submit change of grades for all AB & INC. grades - Fall 2023 semester

Winter Intersession 2024

Jan. 2- 17 Winter Intersession Courses. (Jan. 13, Saturday, will be used to make up for snow day.)
Jan. 15 Holiday - Martin Luther King Jr. Day. No Classes

Spring Semester 2024

Jan.10 Virtual New Student Orientation
Jan.11 On Campus New Student Orientation
Jan. 22 (Mon) Graduate Management Studies Classes begin
Jan. 22 (Mon) Undergraduate and Graduate Classes Begin.
Jan. 22 (Mon) All Full Semester Online Classes ( Undergraduate, Graduate, GMS) Classes Begin
Jan. 22 (Mon) Cycle A Online Classes Begin
Jan. 22-28 Late Registration and Program Changes.
Jan. 27 (Sat.) Weekend University Trimester Begins
Feb. 12 Last day to opt to take courses on Pass/No Credit Basis
Feb. 16 Last day to Withdraw from Cycle A Online Classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of Cycle A Online Classes
Feb. 19 Holiday - President’s Day. (No Classes)
Feb. 20 Study Day/Snow Day (Can Be Used as a Snow Make-Up Day if Necessary)
Mar. 6 University Wide Meeting Day - Brooklyn Campus - (No Classes)
Mar. 8 Last day to Withdraw from classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of the Semester
Mar. 10 Cycle A Online Classes End
Mar. 11-15 Spring Break. No Classes
Mar. 18 Cycle B Online Classes Begin
Mar. 28-31 Easter Recess - (No Classes)
Apr. 15 Last day to Withdraw from Cycle B Online Classes and receive a WD. Midpoint of Cycle B Online Classes
May 3 (Fri) Last day of Undergraduate and Graduate Classes
May 5 (Sun) Weekend University Trimester Ends
May 6-11 Final Examination Period.
May 11 (Sat) Graduate Management Classes end
May 11 Cycle B Online Classes End
May 17 Make-up exams for final exam absentees - Spring 2024 semester
May 23 (Thu.) Commencement
May 31 Last day to submit change of grades for all AB & INC. grades - Spring 2024 semester

Summer Sessions 2024

The Session I-III dates below pertain to Undergraduate Summer Classes. For Graduate Summer Classes, please consult with the Program Director of your Graduate Program.

May 18 Sat. Weekend University Summer Trimester Begins
May 27 Mon. Holiday -  Memorial Day. No Classes
June 19 Wed. Juneteenth Observed. No Classes
July 4 Thu. Holiday - Independence Day. No Classes
Session I M-H May 20 - June 17
Session II M-H June 24 - July 22
Session III M, W May 20 - July 17
Session III T, H May 21 - July 16
Aug. 25 Sun. Last day of Weekend University Summer Trimester Classes